Injustice in science

Yet another article about the ugly side of gender, race, and science.

I’ve always known that STEM is a male-dominated field, but I thought that it wasn’t as bad in biology (my field). Yes, there are more women in bio than, say, physics, but it’s still not that great. Biology suffers from the horrible trend of women dropping out because the career path isn’t compatible with children. There are more men than women in positions of power, and female lab techs definitely outnumber the male ones. Whenever I’d sit in on lab meeting this summer, I’d notice that the men in my lab were much more vocal than the women. They’d sit around the table and discuss results, argue, and question the speaker, while the women were much more likely to occasionally chime in. This happened regardless of seniority. I didn’t attend enough meetings to get a sense of how everyone responded to a male speaker vs. a female one, but I probably already know (even if it was a subtle difference).

I’ve been reading a lot about science and gender and race in the past couple of days and it’s extraordinarily frustrating to realize that white patriarchal values have hindered (and continue to stunt) a lot of scientific progress. I grew up with the idea that science was logical and elevated and unbiased, but I can’t entertain that fantasy anymore. 

*post ends on sad note sorry this isn’t really a happy topic*

 

Also, this is not directly related to science, but here’s a post about religion and racism that blew my mind today. If you’re on Tumblr, I highly recommend following medievalpoc.

1 comment
  1. I find your comment on the ease of having both children and a career to be a very important topic that recruitment officers and those in managerial positions need to be discussing. My sister is an in an architecture master’s program and even though her class is split equally in terms of gender, only 17% of American Institute of Architects members are female. I’d expect a similar trend in many STEM and management fields as well. Encouraging women to pursue science and engineering fields if it is their passion is important, but it is almost just as important to ensure that the field that they are trained for is accepting of women outside of campus as well.

Leave a Reply

